Disclose An Invention

Under Washington University’s Intellectual Property (IP) policy, creators are required to disclose to OTM inventions made using significant university resources and/or pursuant to a research project funded through corporate, federal or other external sponsors.

The Office of Technology Management is responsible for assessing whether or not an invention using Washington University IP qualifies for patent or copyright protection.  If so, the OTM works with WU faculty to license these inventions in the commercial sector.  For more information on the technology transfer process, click here.

To begin the invention disclosure process, please complete the appropriate form and email to inventions@dom.wustl.edu.

Invention Disclosure Form .doc .pdf
Material Disclosure Form .doc .pdf
Software Disclosure Form .doc .pdf

If you are unsure of the correct form to fill out, contact the licensing team member who manages your department.

CONTACT US

Leena Prabhu, PhD – Associate Director
E: l.prabhu@wustl.edu
P: 314-747-1906

Paul Carter – Business Development Director
E: paulcarter@wustl.edu
P: 314-362-5426

David Silva, PhD – Business Development Director
E: dsilva@wustl.edu
P: 314-747-0923

Paul Hippenmeyer, PhD – Business Development Director
E: hippenmeyerp@wustl.edu
P: 314-747-0609

Michael Muskus, PhD – Business Development Associate
E: mmuskus@wustl.edu
P: 314-362-2304

Scott Crick, PhD – Licensing Associate
E: scrick@wustl.edu
P: 314-362-7808

Jennifer Richards, PhD – Licensing Associate
E: richards.j@wustl.edu
P: 314-747-0928